New Years Resolutions?

I know, I know.

I talked about getting back to blogging in my last post, and here I am over a month (ouch!) later with my first post since then.

But since this is the time for resolutions, I’m going to make mine, right now, on this blog. First and obvious things first – get back to blogging! I’ve been in a total reading slump lately (only three and a half books since I last posted – very slow for me), which is going to make blogging more on a books blog a challenge, but hopefully I’ll be able to pull myself out of it! As I’ve mentioned before, I moved to NYC just over 6 months ago, and I’m not going to lie, it’s been a struggle for me. I’m homesick for my family and my home state, and I’m poor, and it’s been affecting my reading. It’s hard to enter into a book that might emotionally devastate you when you’re already half way there on your own, and sometimes when you aren’t feeling very light and airy, reading anything that remotely qualifies as such just feels like you’re kidding yourself. But I’ve just had a lovely, rejuvenating visit home for the holidays, and I’ve come back to New York armed with a Barnes & Noble gift card, so I’m ready to fight that slump!

Also on my resolution list, but completely unrelated to books, is to take better care of myself. Take my vitamins, wear my retainers at night like I’m supposed to, moisturize, and stop using finances as an excuse to eat poorly. Not that I’ve been overindulging in restaurant food (trust me – I don’t have the money for that), but variations on the cheap and delicious pasta + cheese + ground beef + sauce meal doesn’t exactly equal a nutritionally varied and vibrant diet. So I’m resolving to eat better.

And since this is a blog about books – two review snippets to hold you over until I’m back in the swing of things, courtesy of the free ARCS from my publishing friends/the shelf in my company’s kitchen. I did just finish another book on my plane ride home, but I’m not sure I’m ready to review it yet, and I’ve also picked A Winter’s Tale back up again after a few months vacation from it, but I’m not close to finishing, so no review for it yet either! Images from Goodreads.

18196040

The Walled City, by Ryan Graudin:

I picked this one up and put it down a couple times in various bookstores and such before I finally decided to go ahead and read it when someone offered me the ARC. It isn’t usually my style, but I’m glad I ultimately decided to go for it, because I enjoyed it. Some parts definitely were slower than others, and some things were definitely a little more gruesome/gory/real than I needed at that moment, but it kept me entertained on my 45 minute subway commute when I got a chance to sit down, and I found the ending satisfying, so I’d say it’s worth a shot if you’ve been on the fence.

7728889

The Diviners, by Libba Bray

I read and enjoyed A Great and Terrible Beauty when I was in high (middle?) school, so even though I never finished that series, I picked this one up with high hopes and a few reservations, and my expectations were essentially met. I vaguely remembered A Great and Terrible Beauty slowing down and having a hard time revving itself back up again periodically, and The Diviners suffers from the same misfortune. Not helped by the fact that it’s a pretty long book, The Diviners could have used some pacing help. All that being said, the story is great, and I actually think some of the spooky elements made appearances in my dreams, which never happens, which I thinks speaks to the quality of the spook. Be prepared for a commitment, but once The Diviners gets going towards its climax, it’s worth it. Side note – I picked up the ARC noting that is was a fall 2012, so when I realized it was a series, I thought surely the second book would be out by now…and it’s not. Really, guys?

That’s all for now! I hope everyone had a happy holidays!

-Strawberry

Leave a Reply

